Flask Logo Organic Chemistry at CU Boulder

CHEM 3321: Laboratory for Organic Chemistry I

This lab course is for biochemistry and non-chemistry majors. A large part of Chem 3321 is spent learning techniques in organic chemistry, including TLC, distillation, extraction, crystallization, and IR spectroscopy. Once these techniques are mastered, they are employed in the final four labs of the semester. Two laboratory periods are devoted to working with molecular models sets to study nomenclature, conformational analysis, and stereochemistry.

The course syllabus and TA office hours and emails are available on this website. Course documents will be posted on Canvas.

List of Sections

LabDayTimeLocationTA
101/801Tue10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B20Lacey Wayment
102Tue10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B25Lukas Gardner
111Tue1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B20Kyle Fisch
112Tue1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B25Hunter Koltunski
121Wed10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B20Timothy Davis
122Wed10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B25Charlie Lu
123Wed10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B35Lauren Bodkin
131Wed1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B20Kajal Kajal
132Wed1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B25Lukas Gardner
133Wed1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B35Brendan Langmack
151Thu10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B20Ruiheng Jing
152Thu10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B25Charlie Lu
161Thu1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B20Brendan Langmack
162Thu1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B25Hunter Koltunski
181Fri10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B20Timothy Davis
182Fri10:10 AM-1:00 PMEKLC M1B25Charlie Lu
191Fri1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B20Kyle Fisch
192Fri1:25 PM-4:15 PMEKLC M1B25Kajal Kajal

Experiment Schedule

Dates#Experiment
Tue Aug 23 - Fri Aug 26 No labs
Tue Aug 30 - Fri Sep 21Syllabus, Check-In, Lab Safety & IR Spectroscopy
Tue Sep 6 - Fri Sep 92NMR Spectroscopy
Tue Sep 13 - Fri Sep 163Modeling Conformations, ChemDraw & Excel
Tue Sep 20 - Fri Sep 234Practical NMR
Tue Sep 27 - Fri Sep 305Thin Layer Chromatography and Melting Point
Tue Oct 4 - Fri Oct 76Extraction
Tue Oct 11 - Fri Oct 147Recrystallization
Tue Oct 18 - Fri Oct 218Distillation
Tue Oct 25 - Fri Oct 289Modeling Chirality & Cycloalkanes
Tue Nov 1 - Fri Nov 410Stereochemistry of Alkene Additions
Tue Nov 8 - Fri Nov 1111Regiochemistry of Eliminations
Tue Nov 15 - Fri Nov 1812Oxidation of Alcohols
Tue Nov 22 - Fri Nov 25 No labs
Tue Nov 29 - Fri Dec 2 Final Quiz & Check-Out
Tue Dec 6 - Fri Dec 9 No labs