Flask Logo Organic Chemistry at CU Boulder

CHEM 3381: Majors Laboratory for Organic Chemistry II

This lab course is for chemistry majors. Biochemistry majors are encouraged, but not required, to take this course. Non-chemistry majors can also take this course if they wish. This course meets twice a week and is worth 2 credit hours.

CHEM 3381 covers some of the same material as does CHEM 3341, as well as a Wittig reaction, a Grubbs metathesis, an aromatic multi-step synthesis lab that covers three lab periods, and synthesis of frambinone that uses aldol condensation and catalytic hydrogenation. CHEM 3381 also includes two independent projects: one week of natural product isolation, and three weeks of a synthesis project.

LabDayTimeLocationTA
401TR10:20 AM-1:10 PMEKLC M1B35Yiming Hu
411TR1:50 PM-4:40 PMEKLC M1B35Micah Ohlhausen

Experiment Schedule

Dates Experiment Bring Quiz Notes
Tue Aug 25 REMOTE
Syllabus, COVID safety & NMR review
(nothing) No If you don't remember NMR from OChem 1, read up on it ahead of time. These sources are helpful:
Chapter 18 & Chapter 20 in the Lab Handbook and Chapter 13 in Loudon; Spectroscopy Tutorial and NMR Theory Tutorial on this web site.
The in-class Spectroscopy Worksheet, the Spectroscopy Homework, and the Practical NMR lab are not due as part of this lab, but they may be helpful.
Thu Aug 27 No labs
Tue Sep 1 Drawer check-in & Exp. 31: Large-Scale Column Chromatography Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) This is the first experiment this term that has a full lab report associated with it. The Handbook contains a chapter on writing lab reports. Be sure to write up a prelab and submit it in Canvas by the start of lab!
Lab Safety (for review!)
Thu Sep 3 Exp. 32: Alkyne Formation Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Sep 8 Exp. 33: Halogenation of Alkanes Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Thu Sep 10 Exp. 34: Substitution Kinetics Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the calculations spreadsheet for this lab.
Tue Sep 15 Exp. 35: Oxidation of a Diol Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Thu Sep 17 Exp. 14: Epoxidation of Cholesterol Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) During this experiment, you will prepare the reaction for Grubbs Metathesis.
Tue Sep 22 Exp. 36: Grubbs Metathesis Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Thu Sep 24 Exp. 37: Palladium Coupling Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) During this experiment, you will also start selecting your project for the Multistep Synthesis Project (Exp. 42). Read this experiment in advance and bring a laptop if you have one.
Tue Sep 29 Exp. 15: Diels-Alder Reaction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectrum of the adduct. You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and NMR Coupling Constants.
Thu Oct 1 Exp. 38: Aromatic Multistep Synthesis, day 1 Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Details will be posted here later in the semester.
Tue Oct 6 Exp. 38: Aromatic Multistep Synthesis, day 2 (nothing) No The project proposal and materials request for the Multistep Synthesis Project are due.
Thu Oct 8 Exp. 38: Aromatic Multistep Synthesis, day 3 (nothing) No
Tue Oct 13 Exp. 39: Nucleophilic Aromatic Substitution Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplement on Microwave-Assisted Chemistry.
During this experiment, you will prepare the reaction for Synthesis of Frambinone.
Thu Oct 15 Exp. 40: Coumarin Dyes Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Oct 20 Exp. 41: Synthesis of Frambinone, day 1 Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Rheosmin paper cited for first step
Thu Oct 22 Exp. 41: Synthesis of Frambinone, day 2 (nothing) No
Tue Oct 27 Exp. 42: Multistep Synthesis Project, day 1 Prelab No
Thu Oct 29 Exp. 42: Multistep Synthesis Project, day 2 (nothing) No
Tue Nov 3 Exp. 42: Multistep Synthesis Project, day 3 (nothing) No
Thu Nov 5 Exp. 42: Multistep Synthesis Project, day 4 (nothing) No
Tue Nov 10 Exp. 42: Multistep Synthesis Project, day 5 (nothing) No
Thu Nov 12 Exp. 42: Multistep Synthesis Project, day 6 (nothing) No
Tue Nov 17 Exp. 40: Multistep Synthesis Project Presentations, day 1 (nothing) No
Thu Nov 19 Exp. 40: Multistep Synthesis Project Presentations, day 2, & Lab Check-out (nothing) No
Tue Dec 1 Comprehensive Lab Quiz in Canvas (nothing) Yes For the final quiz, you should review the study questions and prelab quizzes.