Flask Logo Organic Chemistry at CU Boulder

CHEM 3341: Laboratory for Organic Chemistry II

This lab course is for biochemistry and non-chemistry majors. Chem 3341 is a continuation of Chem 3321, Organic Chemistry I Lab. The laboratory techniques learned in 3321 are used to carry out reactions in aromatic substitution, organometallic chemistry, oxidation and reduction chemistry, esterifications, aldol condensations, and Wittig chemistry. A significant portion of the semester is devoted to separating and determining the structure of unknown organic compounds, as well as verifying the identification of compounds synthesized in lab.

TA office hours and emails are posted here.

LabDayTimeLocationTA
201T10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Micah Ohlhausen
202T10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B25Garrett Evenson
211T1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Kamil Marsalek
212T1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B25Chance Brandt
221W10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Micah Ohlhausen
222W10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B25Yiming Hu
231W1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Shaofeng Huang
232W1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B25Sara Robertson
251R10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Kamil Marsalek
252R10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B25Jonathan Thurston
261R1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Hongxuan Chen
262R1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B25Sara Robertson
281F10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Micah Ohlhausen
291F1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Shea O'Sullivan
292F1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B25Jonathan Thurston

Experiment Schedule

Dates Experiment Bring Quiz Notes
Tue Jan 14 - Fri Jan 17 Lab check-in & NMR Review (nothing) No If you don't remember NMR from OChem 1, read up on it ahead of time. These sources are helpful:
Chapters 18 & 20 in the Lab Handbook and Chapter 13 in Loudon; Spectroscopy Tutorial and NMR Theory Tutorial on this web site.
The in-class Spectroscopy Worksheet, the Spectroscopy Homework, and the Practical NMR lab are not due as part of this lab, but they may be helpful.
Tue Jan 21 - Fri Jan 24 Exp. 14: Epoxidation of Cholesterol Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) This is the first experiment this term that has a full lab report associated with it. Be sure to print a copy of the lab report rubric and attach it to your lab report when you turn it in at the next lab session. The Handbook contains a chapter on writing lab reports.
Lab Safety (for review!)
Tue Jan 28 - Fri Jan 31 Exp. 15: Diels-Alder Reaction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectrum of the adduct. You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and NMR Coupling Constants.
Tue Feb 4 - Fri Feb 7 Exp. 16: Electrophilic Aromatic Substitution Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Feb 11 - Fri Feb 14 Exp. 17: Microscale Column Chromatography Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) See the section on how to run a flash column in the Column Chromatography Section.
Tue Feb 18 - Fri Feb 21 Exp. 18: Identification of Unknowns, day 1 Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Identification of Unknowns rubric
A visual guide to this lab
NMR spectra for all compounds
Tue Feb 25 - Fri Feb 28 Exp. 18: Identification of Unknowns, day 2 (nothing) No The ID of Unknowns paper is due three lab periods from now.
Tue Mar 3 - Fri Mar 6 Exp. 19: Reduction of Ketones Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Mar 10 - Fri Mar 13 Exp. 20: Wittig Reaction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and NMR Coupling Constants.
Tue Mar 17 - Fri Mar 20 Exp. 21: Grignard Dyes Prelab, ID of Unknowns paper Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplement on UV-Visible and Fluorescence Spectroscopy.
Tue Mar 24 - Fri Mar 27 No labs
Tue Mar 31 - Fri Apr 3 Exp. 22: Liquid Crystals Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Apr 7 - Fri Apr 10 Exp. 23: Fischer Esterification Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectra of all 5 esters. Note that these are for the methyl esters, not the ethyl esters, so you will have to keep this in mind when comparing your own spectra.
Tue Apr 14 - Fri Apr 17 Exp. 24: Aldol Condensation Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and UV-Visible and Fluorescence Spectroscopy.
Tue Apr 21 - Fri Apr 24 Lab Check-out & Final Quiz Yes For the final quiz, you should review the study questions and prelab quizzes.